Lemon Raspberry Tarts

For the barbecue we went to on the 4th, I was tasked with bringing a dessert. (Which is fortunate, as dessert is my favorite thing to make, and I was itching to try some kind of new recipe!) After much deliberation I decided to do some kind of lemony mini-tart-ish thing.  (Thank you Josh for the inspiration!)   The final product was a mini tart shell (baked in a mini-muffin pan) filled with lemon curd, topped with a raspberry.

I was basically pleased with the end result, but next time I would try a different crust, and probably go a more traditional route with tartlet pans.  The crust puffed up a lot, so the shells weren’t as cup-like as I’d hoped they would be.  They were also fairly labor intensive, as I had to use my hands to press super-thin rounds of dough out and then place them in the pan.

The lemon curd was super tasty, but turned out a little runny.  I think I may not have cooked it long enough.  I’d actually never had lemon curd before, so I bought some at the store, both as a taste reference, and as a backup in case mine totally bombed.  Taste-wise, I ended up preferring what I made.

I used this recipe for the crust, and this Lemon Curd.

One thought on “Lemon Raspberry Tarts

Leave a Reply

